Missing the Forest to Snapchat the Trees

There was just enough sun peaking through my window this afternoon to tempt me away from my desk for a quick pick-me-up walk.

I decided on a quick loop to the White House (that sounds obnoxious, but it’s really close!). As I walked up, I noticed a tourist, smartphone in hand, intensely snapping photos of a Lafayette squirrel enjoying his lunch. Watching this guy, you would have thought the squirrel was a model, the way the tourist was capturing him at all angles.

I wanted to say, buddy! You’re missing the most important part! Turn around-the White House is behind you.

But then, for whatever reason, the squirrel-pappparazo made me smile. I don’t know why, but seeing someone get so excited about something so simple, against the backdrop of something so great, just cheered up an otherwise long Tuesday afternoon.

Hope he got at least 10 likes for his photo.

20140204-224427.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under DC, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

