Afternoon in Sacramento

On the train from Sacramento to Oakland, and enjoying the gorgeous views of the water. Getting a bit of a DC policy fix just by being in the city and walking around the Capitol. I’ve been eavesdropping on my neighbor’s conversations-“is he a Tea Party Republican or a Arlen Specter Republican?” and this gem-“ughhh…health policy is so 2010″ and I’m LOVING it. I’ve been surprised by how much I’ve missed being surrounded by policy buzz and conversation since moving to Oakland.

So clearly, I basically leaped at the chance to go to a hearing this afternoon in Sacramento. It was a great opportunity to put faces to names and learn more about the advocacy community. Just so refreshing to be in the policy-zone-I felt energized just walking around.

Also special bonus-with train + hearing schedule, I got to Sacramento about an hour before the hearing, so that meant I could get lunch with Molly! Molly is literally one of my oldest college friends-I think we met even before classes officially started freshman year. She also recently experienced a big move and it just made me so happy to be able to meet up with a friend for lunch and catch up.

Here’s hoping for more opportunities to go to Sacramento. For now, excited
for this train to hurry on home. David and I have been married for month today, and we’re celebrating with Zachary’s pizza-hooray!

20140812-175235.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Observations

Leave a Reply

