Sister weekend plus ones!

started this Monday night, finally getting around to posting-

Writing this on the plane, feeling emotional and sentimental after a weekend in Chicago with Janou and Katie.

This spring, when thinking about a MOH gift to Janou, a sister-weekend seemed like the obvious choice. I knew that having a plan to see each other for a fun weekend in the fall would help make the moving transition much easier. After moving, I was also missing Katie a lot and asked if she would join-I’m so happy she agreed!

So, Saturday morning, with Travel&Leisure’s Dream Trips issue and a fancy water bottle in my bag, I boarded the first flight out of Oakland for a sister fall weekend in CHICAGO!

After three days of eating, shopping, a bit of sightseeing and mostly a lot of talking, I’m back on the plan home, after a tearful goodbye at the airport. The trip was simple and restorative-we took it easy and just enjoyed each other’s company. Being with the two of them made me miss them SO MUCH. I thought that the older I got/more I moved, the easier it would be to live far away from close friends. I’m realizing it’s never easy. It just makes me that much more thankful that they made the effort to be here this weekend (and the MAJOR effort to deal with a nightmarish situation at Midway….when I left they were waiting for their plan with an anticipated 4 hour delay).

But, enough sentimentality! I want to remember the fun of this weekend, so here are a few highlights:

20141018-203730.jpg

Dressing up for dinner the first night at Little Goat

20141018-203845.jpg

Capping off the evening at a champagne bar, dripping with candles

20141018-203942.jpg

Sister weekend plus ones! It was great hanging out with Janou’s sweet friend Nicole

20141018-204049.jpg

And ending the night snuggled on the couch with pizza and Friends :)

20141018-204150.jpg

Shopping and exploring Downtown on a perfectly clear Sunday

20141018-204301.jpg

Taking an obligatory bean pic

20141018-204352.jpg

Dressing up again for dinner at RPM Italian-DELICIOUS!

20141018-204451.jpg

Tea and cake at the top of the Hancock Building in the Signature Lounge

20141018-204601.jpg

Walking through Lincoln Park

20141018-204631.jpg

After I said goodbye, I checked out my fortune cookie-perfect and true advice!

20141018-204644.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Travel

One response to “Sister weekend plus ones!

  1. Love this post! Thank you so much for including me in this trip! Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

