Surprise! Weekend :)

Saying goodbye to a quiet and productive weekend-with some very generous surprises!

Saturday afternoon, I came home from a study day to a package from FedEx. It felt like Christmas opening it-and when I did-what an awesome surprise:

2015/01/img_7471.jpg

A care basket from KMB! Katie filled the basket with treats, hot chocolate mix, a hilarious card and an inspirational calendar. I could just hear Katie’s encouraging voice telling me to keep calm and just get through this. It was JUST the boost I needed to power through the rest of my practice questions. So, so thoughtful. I’ve been enjoying the snacks all weekend :)

I was motivated to get my work done so I could enjoy dinner. David said he made a reservation at Oliveto, so I pushed through a lot of work to have some fun. I was so excited to go out to dinner! As the hostess brought us to our table, we turned the corner, and found my parents, chatting and drinking red wine :)

2015/01/img_7494.jpg

It was a very happy surprise! They flew up to SF for a fun weekend away and coordinated with David to surprise me during a study break. It an awesome burst of energy and encouragement to see them, catch up, laugh, and NOT think about the exam. Also-holy smokes, Oliveto is delicious. The room is warm and glowy, the food is subtle and delicious, and it’s just a very special, very nice place. The evening was the perfect respite from all the stress. I wish I could have spent the weekend tooling around SF with my parents, but I’m so grateful for their incredible surprise at dinner.

The rest of the weekend, I was parked right here:

2015/01/img_7490.jpg

at the dining table, working through bar review. The flowers made it all much cheerier and were a very sweet surprise :) It was SO nice having the extra day today to catch up, sleep and catch my breath.

Also, pizza!

2015/01/img_7475.jpg

2015/01/img_7480.jpg

2015/01/img_7481.jpg

2015/01/img_7482.jpg

David made an incredible “use up all the leftovers” pizza last night. My favorite topping: leftover rosemary. SO good.

And another week begins!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Marriage, Oakland

One response to “Surprise! Weekend :)

  1. Yay for the parentals visit! How fun – sounds like you had a great weekend. I love David’s concentration on pizza making. xoxo

Leave a Reply

