Hold on tight

Last year, my colleague Hannah told me about Roz Chast’s Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? After several misses with the library hold list* I finally picked it up yesterday.

It’s so good. It’s everything we always think about with aging issues, carefully and hilariously illustrated.

This little segment about her parents-married for 67 years!-tugged at my heart and I’ve been thinking about it all day:

I’ve never seen that sentiment articulated so well-it’s so sweet and so real.

*Ah, the library hold list. One of life’s great dramas. Recently, after being 37th on the list for Yes, Please! I finally got the notice the book was ready for pick up. I was out of town. Back in line!

Leave a comment

Filed under Marriage, Reading list, Seniors

Leave a Reply

