36 Hours in DC

“We’ve expanded the options for home- and community-based services offered by Medicaid, which means that more older Americans are able to make the same choice that my grandmother did and live independently.”

I can’t tell you how exciting it was to hear this sentence.  On Monday morning, President Obama addressed the White House Conference on Aging in the East Room.



And, unexpectedly, I got to be there to hear it all! It was pretty surreal.  Working in aging policy, it’s easy to get bogged down in the wonky details of long term care and Medicaid.  So it’s hard to express how thrilling it was to hear the President jump into those details. I never thought I would hear the President even say the phrase “home and community based services.” Hearing him elevate its importance gives me hope it will become part of our lexicon and maybe…maybe…people will finally start talking about aging and solutions to long term care.

The WHCOA happens every ten years and the whole day was a whirlwind. Seeing many aging advocates I admire, listening to the Secretary of Labor’s inspiring words about poverty advocacy, and just knowing that for one day aging issues were on the Administrations radar-it was awesome.

In the foyer in front of the East Room.

So grateful for the opportunity to be a part of it all.  And so grateful for a quick trip to see my amazing sister!



Shannon and I got drinks at Woodward Table and Katie was awesome and drove me to the airport. I wish I had more time to catch up with these three, but feeling very thankful for the brief time to catch up in that beautiful city. DC always gives me a shot of energy and the excitement at WHCOA reinvigorated my dedication to this field.  Quite a day and a half!

Leave a comment

Filed under DC, Seniors, Travel

Leave a Reply

