Redding and SF weekend :)

Last night, after reading an Onion parody that hit a bit too close to home, I turned my phone off a full hour before getting in bed.  Surprise, surprise, I felt much more rested this morning.

So, trying that again tonight, but before Monday ends, want to remember a happy weekend celebrating Katie and Baby Nolte!

Once again, I went a bit overboard on the audio books at the OPL, but it was nice to have selection for the long ride.  Driving up to Redding, I listened to Tiny Beautiful Things. This is my first introduction to Cheryl Strayed and her essays make me want to read Wild.

Saturday morning, Katie and I went for a walk before baby shower prep.  Katie’s mom made delicious salads and Katie made a heavenly cobbler.

 

Katie and Kim :)

Can we talk about how great Katie looks? She’s glowing with her little basketball belly!

After the shower, we parked ourselves here for total relaxation time. It felt like a vacation.

I don’t even know how many hours Katie, Kim and I bobbed around in the pool. It just felt so restorative to completely relax in such a pretty place and talk, and talk, and talk with two wonderfully thoughtful friends.

Later that evening, we thought about going to dinner and quickly nixed the plans in favor of pizza, chardonnay (Kim and me) and patio time. SO relaxing.

So grateful to spend some time I this beautiful place with good friends :)

The Sunday drive back was super easy, aided by another great book, Knowing Your Value. Back in Oakland, I jumped on BART and met up with Stephanie, Heather and special guest, Lauren! Lauren is in town for a few weeks so we got lunch at Bar Tartine. It was really nice to catch up. We eventually had to leave when they started to prep the restaurant for dinner…

And now-back to the week! Hoping to power off again and get some sleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reunions

Leave a Reply

