First trip to Nashville

Good (super early) morning from the Nashville airport! Heading to Oakland after a great, quick, first trip to TN!

I flew out here Monday for a conference and a meeting Tuesday. The BEST part of the trip was seeing Divya and Ankur! This week is Divya’s fall break and they generously drove the long drive to Nashville Monday night. They picked me up at my hotel and drove to The Pharmacy for yummy burgers and milkshakes.

This was the first time I got to hang out with the Divya and Ankur since they got married (!!!). It  was so nice to have time to really talk and catch up and so generous of them to make the effort to hang out.

The conference was held at the Gaylord Opryland Convention Center. This place was bananas. It is huge! Almost as if Disneyland, the Spectrum and….the Rain Forrest Cafe? merged and built a hotel. Basically, totally over the top. Not sure I would say it’s beautiful but it is impresssive. I had to budget a half an hour just to find the room for my presentation. It’s that massive.

After presenting and conferencing, I had a bit of time for lunch before my meeting downtown. Ankur said Nashville is famous for its hot chicken, so we all met up for lunch at Hattie B’s. Holy smokes-it was delicious. The line was crazy long, but Ankur was a genius and ordered ahead.  We were able to walk up to the picnic tables and enjoy our lunch without a wait-I felt like a celebrity! Ever since Asheville, I’ve been craving anything with pimento cheese and Hattie B’s had a decadent pimento mac and cheese-incredible. I wish I didn’t live so far away from Divya and could just meet up for a pimento mac and cheese lunch on any random Tuesday-it was a special treat.

Nashville has some gorgeous historic architecture and I was totally struck by the art decco exterior and lobby (below) of the Frist Center for Visual Arts.

After lunch, I ducked into the Union Station Hotel lobby for some air conditioning and e-mail catch up. This place is just as grand as the Gaylord but much more my style (if my style could afford such grand hotels). The arched, stained glass ceiling over the lobby was stunning.


After my afternoon meeting and delicious dinner at Puckett’s Grocery, I headed back to the Opryland area to do some work and get to bed early before my early flight. Someday, I would love to return wit David and do the whole Music City experience. For now, grateful for the quick peak at the city and the chance to catch up with an amazing friend!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reunions, Travel

Leave a Reply

