Heyyyy…how are you?

Here’s an all too common post 11/8 exchange:

Friend: Heyyy…how are you?

Me: I’m ok, how are you?

Friend: I’m…ok. I mean, I’m fine, everything with me is ok, but ughhh…

Me: I know.

Friend: Trump! It gets worse everyday!

And repeat.


(Sunrise this morning. Not at all related to this, but it brought me some calm).

There has to be a better way to sum up the “I’m doing ok, just devastated and terrified about the rapidly deteriorating state of the world” greeting.

Man, this weekend. And yet, why am I even surprised? This is a president who told us exactly what he wanted to do. While he can’t deliver on any of the promises that would help people (last I checked, there’s no new steel mills, we have no federal parental leave policy, and Pharma reigns supreme) he’s certainly coming through with his promises for harm. 

I’m encouraged by my friends and protestors and only hope they will have the stamina to keep showing up in force. I’m frustrated that I can’t be in the midst of it, but inspired by the visual outpouring of this human force against hate. The images of lawyers in airports and the updates from NILC and the ACLU reinforce my admiration towards lawyers and the importance of the court (which, to be honest, as a lawyer myself, I can sometimes forget).

So, mentally, I’m clinging to that. Trying, so hard, to focus on the good, and the brave acts of those doing the right thing. And calling my senators and rep, etc. etc.

It all just feels really hopeless. What are we going to do? I mean, really though, where do we go from here? We have to stay engaged and informed and push the GOP to maintain some sort of oversight and accountability-but will they? And if they dont? 

There’s not much more to say that hasn’t been said a thousand times by, thankfully, millions of others. No silver lining way to wrap this up. This is scary, and wrong, and I’m worried and angry and confused and this is not ok.

Time to out on my Google meditation music, take Twitter off my phone (again), and practice those slow breathing techniques…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

