Third trimester continued

Greetings from 38 weeks of pregnancy! Now that I’m coming up on the end of the third trimester, basically life is pregnancy and baby prep, and wanted to jot down a few memories of all of it.

We were able to get back into our house two weeks ago–thank goodness–and then the baby prep really began in earnest.  At that point, I was 35 weeks and feeling VERY overwhelmed by all that we still had to do.  So, I called in reinforcements…

Mom kindly flew up to help!! It was such a relief having her here.  We basically had one full day and she got a TON done.  Stocked up on essentials at Costco, put together a bunch of furniture, and she cooked many delicious meals to freeze for post-baby.

That night, I finally began to feel a bit calmer.  I kept thinking about how much I needed help from my mom, and how much I still felt like a child….it is wild to think about being a mother myself.  I just hope I’m as helpful as she is!

Anyway, while washing and folding teeny-tiny clothes that night and feeling a bit more prepared….our washing machine flooded.  Of course! Thankfully, it was just an issue with the pipe and everything is working now.

Wednesday was my last day commuting until I return after leave.  My colleagues were amazing and surprised me with a very festive Cascarones and Martinellis send-off!  I’m so grateful to work for such a supportive organization and work with the kindest people. Working from home full-time for the next two weeks/baby’s arrival.

We were in Sacramento Saturday and took advantage of the proximity to IKEA to pick up some final storage/organization pieces.  Think we have almost everything stored away..and now we wait.  PS-have baskets always been so popular? /the answer to all problems? According to Pinterest (or at least my feed), the secret to happiness seems to be: baskets, gallery walls, brass fixtures and ranunculus.

This photo is from a few days ago.  Grateful that the baby seems to be cozy and content-and thankful for some extra time-though, admittedly, getting more and more anxious about labor and the reality of everything.  Trying to stay calm, hopeful, and go with whatever happens.

While David gave a presentation in Sacramento Saturday morning, and I explored the WAL Public Market and got a coffee and pastry at Temple. It’s strange, I’ve been to Sacramento a bunch of times, but rarely on the weekend.  It was a beautiful day! Yesterday, the Stockton Symphony performed the Music of John Williams.  David’s face when they began playing the theme song from Jurassic Park–priceless.  So much joy. I even got a little emotional and I don’t even really like Jurrassic Park!

Two more days until March!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

