First two weeks 

We’ve been a little family of three for two weeks :) Even with a few weeks together, I still feel like we’re all very much in our infancy-David and me as parents, Diego as a newborn-and all learning a new rhythm together.

In those first few days in the hospital-which, btw, were CRAZYINTENSE-I remember telling myself: this is temporary, it won’t always be this bananas, we just have to get through these first two weeks.

And so, a lot of this has felt like a hurdle to get through, particularly that first week. Thankfully, with each day, we each grow a bit more comfortable. And, sure enough, with this second week, I’ve felt much more like myself than my first. Guess everything really does just take time?

Anyway, adjustments aside, it’s also been an incredible couple of weeks. Here’s some of the moments I want to remember, post-hospital:

Bringing Diego home!! We both sat in the back seat, we both bawled our eyes out. Diego actually calmed down before me. That drive home, looking at Diego, listening to David tell him all about our neighborhood, and walk him through our house-that felt like Diego’s birth moment. That was when all the reality and raw emotions hit me, and I lost it. In a good way! It was overwhelming and special and it felt like such a relief to all be home together.

Sushi! Ha, slightly less significant, but still important. The second night we were home, my mom generously treated us to sushi for dinner-and all the rolls were amazing.  Exactly what I wanted to celebrate my birthday and being home.

Birthday cake!! Four days after Diego’s arrival, I turned 32 :) My mom outdid herself and baked this gorgeous chocolate cake ala Ina’s Cooking for Jeffrey book. Layer after layer of deliciousness.


Diego’s Grandma!! My goodness, my mom saved the day that first week. From keeping the house in order, to all the groceries, to all the meals, to her morning Diego time ( = sleep time for David and me) I am so grateful she took the week to help us out. As wild as that whole first week was, my mom’s steady presence was a tremendous help.

These two buddies. Ha, I was walking behind them on the way to the doctor, and noticed they kind of matched. Not to be a total puddle of cheesiness, but I love seeing the two of them together.

UCLA!? Bummed about their loss to Kentucky, but it was fun watching the other two games. Also, oddly thankful for the March Maddness. Turns out, hours and hours of basketball is kind a perfect, almost soothing, entertainment when you’re entirely too exhausted to read or focus on anything. 

Getting outside! And introducing Diego to our neighbors. My friends who has c-sections have been super helpful and supportive with advice and encouragement. They all recommended walking, whenever possible. They are so right. Our daily, very slow, very brief, walks have worked wonders for my sanity. There’s been some rainy days, but most afternoons have been sunny and springy. 

Speaking of our neighbors, they are (thankfully) so excited about Diego. I keep worrying his late night wails are waking them up, but our next-door neighbor says she doesn’t hear…Our neighbors, friends and family have been super generous with their excitement over Diego-he is one lucky little baby :)


One of the kindest gifts (and one of the 1,000 times I cried last week) was this song from Eric and Molly. They wrote a song about Diego, to the lyrics of Carmen Sandiego. How sweet is that? Eric said it makes Diego sound like a loveable scoundrel-ha!-and I’m just amazed at all the detail they incorporated from our life.  Awesome.

Trying to nap in the afternoon when Diego sleeps, but most of the time I just want to look at him and hang out. 

The Wing Jones US Launch! Wing Jones was released in the US on March 14-amazing! Katie did a reading in SF on Thursday night. Even though we couldn’t be there in person, we celebrated at home. So proud and amazed that Katie’s BOOK-one she wrote from her amazing imagination-is on bookshelves across America.

Ha! This was a moment after the end of the Florida-Wisconsin game. UNREAL.

Saturday morning, we decided to try out a walk to breakfast. It’s a short walk to House of Shaw, but I was still nervous we would get there and have to turn around. Thankfully, Diego was great! I know every outing won’t be this easy, but it was reassuring to have a good first run.

Celebrating over chai lattes and bagels :)

A very special Sunday afternoon. In a lucky twist of timing, Janou and Katie were both in SF at the same time. Max was awesome and drove them to Stockton yesterday, bringing lunch, groceries, and a lot of love for Diego. The phrase “my heart was bursting with joy” is totally overused, but it totally applies here. To see the most important people in my life-who are usually in DC and London-in my living room, meeting my son, well yes, my heart nearly exploded from joy. 

Ha! Cheering on Diego during tummy time. David hates that phrase; he calls it Ab Blasters :)

!!!! So much love.

Diego with his aunt and uncle!

Sending good thoughts for the week ahead :)

1 Comment

Filed under Baby

One response to “First two weeks 

  1. Taryn Muchnick

    HE IS SO CUTE I LOVE HIM! Can’t wait to meet him!!! Love you all so much! xoxo

Leave a Reply

